|
Media/PhishBucket Press Releases
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
PhishBucket Releases Report of Job Fraud Trends Presented at APWG 2009 eCrime Researchers Summit
(Tacoma, WA - October 20) Tabatha Marshall, PhishBucket.org founder and CEO, attended the Anti-Phishing Working...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Money Transfer/Mule Offers
Very rarely do company presidents/CEOs play an active role in hiring 'payment processors' (we call them accountants). Yet that's what this offer would have you believe. They seem to offer you the job, sight unseen, even though you're a total...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Money Transfer/Mule Offers
The reason they tell you reply to their free Yahoo email account (Hong Kong) is because they forged the headers, which clearly show the email was sent from Brazil. The reason they ask if you've ever done this before is because they're hoping...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Online Advertising Job Offers
A few of the reasons we have a problem with these "make money using Google ads" offers are illustrated in the offer below. No opt-out! Forged headers! And best of all, sent from Hotmail, from a guy who wants you to make money using...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Online Shopping/Mystery Shopper Offers
You probably shouldn't respond to mystery shopper offers that only give you a free Gmail account for replies. Think about it for a sec. You haven't got a clue who this person is. Do you really think it's a good idea to give a total stranger ANY...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Pyramid Schemes
According to WHOIS, the domain they want you to visit is for sale by owner for $181 (see: http://whois.domaintools.com/wokawayspain.com). Kind of odd, don't you think?
You might be wondering why we've flagged this offer. The main reason...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Money Transfer/Mule Offers
They claim to be from the UK but interestingly, the IP addresses in the headers show it originating from the United States. Maybe it's a non-native resident of the U.S. sending these, we're not really sure. What we are sure of is that it's a...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Online Shopping/Mystery Shopper Offers
Well at least they spell it out for you. If you visit regularly, then you know we've told you over and over that these bogus mystery shopping offers want you to evaluate money transfer services like Western Union and Moneygram. This should...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Online Shopping/Mystery Shopper Offers
Do they have The Gap, Wal-Mart, Pizza Hut, and Bank One in Russia? Because that's where this email offer originated. So ask yourself...doesn't it seem odd for people in Russia to be hooking you up with secret shopper jobs? Wouldn't you feel...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Online Shopping/Mystery Shopper Offers
They don't have a Web site or use a corporate email address. The email originates from France but they claim to be in downtown New York city. Riiiiight...
If you browse through some of our other mystery shopper scams you'll see what has...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Money Transfer/Mule Offers
It's a money transfer/mule scam that tries to fool us in a few ways but fails:
1. They start the message Dear Friend (something recruiters don't do).
2. They target the United States, Canada, UK and Europe....
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Mystery Phish
Spam. The opt-out links look too much like the other links they sent, which means there's no guarantee you're actually opting out if you use it. We never recommend clicking links sent in email, even job offers. This will probably steer you away...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Money Transfer/Mule Offers
Good old payment processing, which means it's a money transfer/mule scam. The just want to send you fake checks printed by other 'mules' who are falling for a different angle of the scam. They want you to withdraw whatever the bank will allow...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Pyramid Schemes
The email address in the offer below is actually a link that goes to: http :// us.mc1113.mail.yahoo.com/mc/compose?to=entrepreneur @ apnamultan.com. What does this mean? Well, they're obviously hoping you have a Yahoo email account, which might...
|
|
Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers/Online Shopping/Mystery Shopper Offers
The email originates from the UK according to the IP address 217.37.27.149 in the headers, which is odd considering they claim to be in California. Chances are good they're spoofing a real mystery shopper company by that name, since they cite...
|
|
Powered by AlphaContent 3.0.4 © 2005-2010 - All rights reserved
|