| PhishBucket.org is a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting job seekers from fraudulent job offers. Check suspicious offers, learn more about how to spot job phish, and search for REAL, phish-free jobs all in one place! |
| Home |
| FAQ |
| Report Suspicious Job Offers |
| JobTank - Phish-Free Jobs |
| Find Jobs on the Web |
| Recommended Reading |
| Web Resources |
| PhishMarket |
| Contact Us |
Home News Alerts |
| Alert: Spoof of U.S. Treasury Department |
| Sunday, 05 July 2009 | ||||||||||
|
This message claims that recipients are getting this letter because of new measures being implemented by the US Treasury Department. Yet it originates from Poland!
Fortunately the Web site has already been shut down. But if you see this wording again you can bet there's something phishy going on. Message text: *Important:* You're getting this letter in connection with new directions issued by U.S. Treasury Department. The directions concern U.S. Federal Wire online payments. A country-wide phishing attack began on April 21, 2009. It's taking place hitherto. Therefore a great number of banks and credit unions is affected by this attack and quantity of illegal wire transfers has reached an extremely high level. U.S. Treasury Department, Federal Reserve and Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) in common worked out a complex of immediate actions for the highest possible reduction of fraudulent operations. We regret to inform you that definite restrictions will be applied to all Federal Wire transfers from April 29 till May 8. Here you can get more detailed information regarding the affected banks and U.S. Treasury Department restrictions: http :// treasurydept.direct-ebank.us/32268/CM/wire/issue-127532/ <http :// treasurydept.direct-ebank.us/31970/CM/wire/issue-127333/> *Federal Reserve Bank System Administration* Headers: Return-Path: <chris_odonnell @ uml.edu> X-REPLACEME: No Received: from 94-40-89-194.idk.net.pl (94-40-89-194.idk.net.pl [94.40.89.194]) by [removed] (Postfix) with ESMTP id 017572FEF for [removed]; Wed, 29 Apr 2009 01:40:23 +0300 (EEST) Received: from [94.40.89.194] by emailgw2.uml.edu; Tue, 28 Apr 2009 23:42:36 +0100 Date: Tue, 28 Apr 2009 23:42:36 +0100 From: ADMINISTRATION <security @ banking.va.us> X-Mailer: The Bat! (v3.62.14) Educational Reply-To: chris_odonnell @ uml.edu X-Priority: 3 (Normal) Message-ID: <765534636.39422059108355 @ uml.edu> To: [removed] Subject: Read carefully - Important Customer Notification MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="----------4016E92584258B6E" WHOIS direct-ebank.us (Courtesy: http://whois.domaintools.com/direct-ebank.us): Domain Status: Deleted And Available Again WHOIS sender IP 94.40.89.194 (Courtesy: http://whois.domaintools.com/94.40.89.194): IP Location: Poland Poland Warsaw Agnes P.jedrzejek Resolve Host: 94-40-89-194.idk.net.pl IP Address: 94.40.89.194 descr: Agnes P.Jedrzejek country: PL admin-c: PJ344-RIPE tech-c: BS4075-RIPE status: ASSIGNED PA mnt-by: TKTELEKOM-MNT mnt-lower: TKTELEKOM-MNT mnt-routes: TKTELEKOM-MNT source: RIPE # Filtered person: Pawel Jedrzejek address: 74-100 Gryfino, PL e-mail: pawel @ idk.net.pl e-mail: info @ idk.net.pl phone: +48 914168198 phone: +48 609838516 mnt-by: TKTELEKOM-MNT nic-hdl: PJ344-RIPE source: RIPE # Filtered person: Bartek Swedrowski address: 74-100 Gryfino, PL e-mail: bartek @ idk.net.p e-mail: admin @ idk.net.pl phone: +48 914168198 mnt-by: TKTELEKOM-MNT nic-hdl: BS4075-RIPE source: RIPE # Filtered
Powered by !JoomlaComment 3.26
3.26 Copyright (C) 2008 Compojoom.com / Copyright (C) 2007 Alain Georgette / Copyright (C) 2006 Frantisek Hliva. All rights reserved."
|
||||||||||
| < Prev | Next > |
|---|