| PhishBucket.org is a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting job seekers from fraudulent job offers. Check suspicious offers, learn more about how to spot job phish, and search for REAL, phish-free jobs all in one place! |
| Home |
| FAQ |
| Report Suspicious Job Offers |
| JobTank - Phish-Free Jobs |
| Find Jobs on the Web |
| Recommended Reading |
| Web Resources |
| PhishMarket |
| Contact Us |
Home Suspicious/Fraudulent Offers Archived Articles |
| Something's VeriRotten with VeriResume... |
| Wednesday, 01 August 2007 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
VeriResume is soliciting jobs. It's not apparent where they get their lead lists - they may be buying them or scraping them from the job boards, or maybe they buy/download them elsewhere. They have several websites, but at veriresume.com there's an impressive list of clients. Part of what bothers me about these guys right off the bat is that they act like the job seeker is the problem in the employment world. Get a load of this quote from their main page:
"VeriResume was created to combat the growing problem of resume fraud. Resume fraud hurts both employers and honest job seekers."
So, blame job seekers for faking their resumes when there are so many fake companies about, and then encourage them to register on the site. I'm sure the job seekers are beating down a path to their door. (Update: I thought they might be phishers because they don't appear to have a privacy policy, so they can pretty much do whatever they want with applicant data. But one of their employees commented later to say job seekers are apparently baited with jobs and then once contact is established, attempts are made to try to sell them educational programs. Numerous people have commented to say they had issues filling out their online application too or that someone there dropped the ball on a job lead.) Check out the research and YOU decide if you want to give them your info. :) The email:
From: careers @ veriresume.com
To: Person Sent: Thursday, July 19, 2007 1:48 PM Subject: Victim , Concerning a BNY Mellon Performance Analyst job offer and your online resume Dear Person,
In a recent review of online resumes, I was impressed by your qualifications. One of our clients, The Bank of New York Mellon, needs to hire a Performance Analyst, and I'd like to invite you to apply for the position.
(real url: http ://veriresume-jobs.com/careers_bny.aspx?id=cjfurjd101_vby071920073serSIx6xxz&email= biteme @ noluck.com )
You can expect to be contacted one or two business days after submitting your online application. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
(url: http ://veriresume-jobs.com/optout.aspx?id=cjfurjd101_vby071920073serSIx6xxz&email= biteme @ noluck.com
Internet header shows: Websites:
They hide behind their registrar, Network Solutions, Inc. The above link to scamfraudalert.com shows the WHOIS info on these domains. BBB Info:
This Business Operates under the Names:
Addresses:
The good news? It doesn't appear to be a money scam or a shipping scam. The bad news? Your email may now be forever on a mailing list.
The views expressed and the links provided on our comment pages are the personal views of individual contributors and do not necessarily reflect the views of PhishBucket.org. Powered by !JoomlaComment 3.26
3.26 Copyright (C) 2008 Compojoom.com / Copyright (C) 2007 Alain Georgette / Copyright (C) 2006 Frantisek Hliva. All rights reserved." |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| < Prev | Next > |
|---|